It is almost time to travel to Jefferson Texas for the very popular 33rd Annual Jefferson Candlelight Tour of Homes®
Stop by the Chamber office any time we are open to purchase and pick up your tickets with cash or check. If you would like to purchase tickets on line CLICK HERE
33rd Annual Candlelight Tour of Homes®
Join us for the 33rd Annual Candlelight Tour of Homes® in charming, historic Jefferson, Texas, as we share the warmth of an old-fashioned Christmas through tours of lavishly decorated homes and holiday festivities. You’ll enjoy a journey through a quiet Christmas past as you tour historic homes by the soft glow of candlelight. The fragrance of fresh fir Christmas trees and wreaths drifts through rooms as tour guides, decked out in hooped skirts and top hats, describe each home’s origins and antique furnishings. The event is held Thursday through Saturday, Dec. 3 – 5 and Dec. 10 – 12, 2015, in charming historic Jefferson, Texas. Event times: Thursday 3 pm to 7 pm; Friday and Saturday 5 pm to 9 pm. More info at JeffersonCandlelight.com or call 903.665.7064 or email Marymcnash@gmail.com
Singleton’s Virgina Cross House,a glorious Greek Revival mansion built just before the Civil War, offers antebellum splendor. The house receives its unusual “Virginia Cross” designation due to its cruciform floor plan modeled after 18th century Virginia homes. The Singleton family owned the house for more than 100 years, beginning in 1885. This significant example of Texas antebellum architecture was recorded as a Texas Historic Landmark in 1966 and was entered into the National Register of Historic Places in 1970 and the Historic American Building Survey in 1966. The home was restored in 1989 and is furnished with antique furniture and accessories of the 1860’s. It is currently owned by Mary and Weldon Nash. Location: 401 N. Soda St.
The Dotson-King House, offers a historic glimpse of tragedy and perseverance in a historic manor home owned by Confederate soldier’s widow. In October 1862, Lucy VanDuzen Culberson Dotson (known as ‘L.V.’) and her husband, James B. Dotson, purchased the land at 312 North Walnut Street and built their home. Hopes and dreams for their lives and that of their 18-month-old daughter Lula would be short-lived. The spring of 1863 found Dotson fighting with Company K of the 7th Texas Infantry. He died in the battle of Raymond, Mississippi, in 1863. “L.V.” never remarried and lived in the home until 1905 when she sold the property to Minnie and James King. The Kings significantly enlarged the house for their family and later took in boarders during the “oil boom” of the 1930’s-40’s. The Dotson-King home has been lovingly restored and is now owned by Sharon and James Goolsby. Location: 312 N. Walnut St.
The Eanbeorht Home’s wide porch and family heirlooms invite visitors to slow down and enjoy a return to true southern hospitality. “Eanbeorht–meaning “enclosure”–and interpreted from the English surname of the Emberton Family, was built as a historic replica in tribute to the family heritage and the spirit of Jefferson and east Texas. The home’s foundation was built with bricks from the 1908 Marshall High School. The front walkway is edged with bricks from a civil war-era iron smelter on the banks of the Tennessee River. The home’s interior represents both modern and historical interpretations of southern hospitality for receiving guests. Spacious porches accommodate morning and evening visitation. Many of the furniture pieces are family heirlooms passed down from five generations. Dr. Sherilyn Emberton, current owner of the property, incorporated family history as well as regional artifacts to design a tribute to both the town and its rich past.Location: 410 N. Walnut St.
The Lafayette Street Vintage Car Museum features beautifully restored vintage cars displayed in a historic 1920’s building.The A.J. Woods building, constructed in 1920, served as home to three different banks, all of which failed due to the Great Depression.At one point, it also housed the Jefferson Chamber of Commerce. In 1951, Dr. A. J. Woods purchased the property and established a medical practice. Pat Woods inherited the building after her father’s death. From 1983 to 2007, the building housed a print shop, a gift shop, and a sandwich shop. In 2007, Pat’s husband, Jimmy Moore, completely remodeled the interior, leaving the original ceiling intact. Today visitors can enjoy antique cars in surroundings fitting their reclaimed glory. Location: 112 W. Lafayette St.
Room Availability for the weekends:
White Oak Manor bed and breakfast 903-665-8185
Pine Cove Cabin 469-338-4645
House of the Seasons 903-665-8000
Delta Street Inn 903-665-2929